Thanksgiving

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My dad took these with his phone, so the quality isn’t fantastic, but my bread looks good regardless. Brandon and I went over to my dad’s house and Dad and I made:

Challah: adapted from the recipe from Baking with Julia. I don’t use sugar in mine, I sub in 1/3 cup honey. I also braid mine differently.
Roasted Chicken with Cranberry/Pecan Stuffing
Cranberry-Orange Chutney
Brussels Sprouts
Mashed Potatoes and Gravy
Roasted Acorn Squash with Maple Syrup and Butter
and smitten kitchen’s Mosaic Apple Tart with Salted Caramel

If the challah wasn’t so needy on resources and time, I’d make it every week. But to make two loaves you need 6.5 cups flour, quite a bit of yeast, 1/3 cup honey, 1 stick of butter (which we go through quickly enough anyway), 1 cup of whole milk, and 5 freaking eggs. The cost of those things in my area of the country is $5, not to mention time spent making it (1 hour mixing, 4.5 hours of rising, 30 minutes rolling and shaping, 30 mins baking). It’s not hard to make though, but I have always had good luck with yeasted breads (especially enriched ones like challah and brioche), so take that into consideration before making this bread.

 

 

Leave a Reply

