sick

I hate being ill. Luckily it only happens 1-2 times a year. Right now my left tonsil is puffed up like a male Prairie Chicken during mating season. Need to make a big pot of tea, but I’ve been too achey and weak to get out of bed.

I hate being sick as an adult, there’s no one to help you out usually. though I’m glad I don’t get sick as much as when I was in 6-12th grade. I got sick once a month from what I remember. I think it’s partly because I was so stressed out. I really hated going to school. It was a huge waste of my time, except for a few classes I took (AP 12th grade English, AP European History, Human Anatomy, Honors Genetics, and all the photography classes with Pippi Engstrom).

I still miss Pippi, she was the only K-12 art teacher I ever got along with, much less had a friendly and trustful relationship with. She didn’t treat me like a kid. She treated me like a young artist; and I really appreciated that.

It’s been odd going back to work in a place that was hostile to me and my friends during our collective youth. But I am looking forward to working with the teacher who is running the This Is How I Scream literary magazine that I was editor/co-editor for in my day. I am also trying my hardest to get the GSA to work. They need proper leadership, structure, and a place to meet and I think it will all work out.

I hope I can get myself out of bed and to the kitchen to make tea now. My throat is killing me.

Leave a Reply

